Rebrand FAQ

Camden County Animal Shelter is rebranding to Homeward Bound Pet Adoption Center, Inc. This change was done to better reflect our recent expansion and ongoing lifesaving mission to the community. We also recognized that with the rebranded focus, our supporter base could be broadened, appealing to a wider audience.

Homeward Bound Pet Adoption Center name was selected because it shares with the community our purpose to find homes for animals.

Camden County Animal Shelter partnered with SPARK marketing agencies to identify our new brand. A focus group was formed to brainstorm names followed by a random survey to supporters to finalize name and logo selection. Camden County Board of Freeholders sponsored rebranding efforts of Homeward Bound Pet Adoption Center.

No, there will be no change. We will continue to operate as a non-profit organization.

Yes, we will continue to provide temporary shelter to over 5,000 animals annually, however our lifesaving work involves so much more.

Our new name and logo signal our commitment to our life-saving work and organizational growth. We seek to increase the quality and reach of our programs and services to the community.

We have grown a great deal in the last few years beginning with a shelter improvement plan that began in 2015. That year, the shelter opened a new adoption wing that provided additional housing for 30 dogs and 50 cats. The conclusion of the latest expansion project in November 2018, expanded the low-cost clinic services, enhanced animal holding space, customer service and housekeeping areas. The clinic improvements included a new surgical suite and prep areas for spay/neuter surgeries for shelter animals as well as publicly owned animals. As the quality and impact of our programming has grown, so has our operating budget. To ensure our future success and ability to help more people and pets, we need to broaden our base of supporters and generate new sources of philanthropic support.

We are the leading animal welfare agency in the region with the highest intake and the highest save rate to reach 90%.

No. The address is still 125 County House Road/P.O. Box 475 Blackwood, New Jersey 08012. Our phone number is 856-401-1300.

Yes. The new website is www.homewardboundnj.org and below are the following staff contacts and their new e-mail addresses.

Board of Directors: board@homewardboundnj.org
Vicki Rowland, Executive Director: vicki@homewardboundnj.org
Donielle Killian-Gioia, Shelter Operations Manager: donielle@homewardboundnj.org
Julie Gray, Special Events & Digital Communications Coordinator: julie@homewardboundnj.org
Katie Ritter, Volunteer & Community Relations Manager: katie@homewardboundnj.org
Rose Rumaker: Office Manager rose@homewardboundnj.org
Sara Sharp, Lifesaving Programs Coordinator: sara@homewardboundnj.org
Valerie Miller, Clinic Manager: valerie@homewardboundnj.org
Jackie Locilento: jackie@homewardboundnj.org
General Clinic Info Homeward Bound: clinic@homewardboundnj.org
General Info Homeward Bound: info@homewardboundnj.org
General Outreach Homeward Bound: outreach@homewardboundnj.org
General Volunteer Homeward Bound: volunteer@homewardboundnj.org

Checks can be made payable to: Homeward Bound Pet Adoption Center and mailed to: P.O. Box 475, Blackwood, New Jersey 08012.

Yes, if you are currently subscribed to receive e-mail communications from us, you will continue to do so. If you’d like to sign up for our mailing list, please fill out the subscription form in the footer of this page.

Yes, we are on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Find us at:
Facebook – Facebook.com/HomewardBoundPetAdoptionCenter
Instagram – @homewardboundnj
Twitter – @homewardboundnj